Officers, Five Councilors Elected to IASP Leadership

Officers, Five Councilors Elected to IASP Leadership

A record percentage of IASP members voted in May and June to elect a new slate of officers and councilors. All will begin their terms following the World Congress on Pain at the end of September. At that time, Judith Turner (USA), the current president-elect, will become president, and Rolf-Detlef Treede, the current president, will become the immediate past president. Following are the new IASP leaders:

IASP Officers 2016 – 2018

  • President: Judith Turner (USA)
  • President-Elect: Lars Arendt-Nielsen (Denmark)
  • Treasurer: Allen Finley (Canada) (Four-year term: 2016 – ۲۰۲۰)
  • Secretary: Michael Nicholas (Australia)
  • Immediate Past President: Rolf-Detlef Treede (Germany)

Newly Elected Councilors (2016-2022)

  • Sushma Bhatnagar (India)
  • Serge Perrot (France)
  • Andrew Rice (UK)
  • Emiko Senba (Japan)
  • Michele Sterling (Australia)

The newly elected councilors join Mary Cardosa (Malaysia), Karen Davis (Canada), Herta Flor (Germany), Joao Garcia (Brazil), Ian Gilron (Canada), Michael Gold (USA), Jeff Mogil (Canada), Hellen Kariuki (Kenya), Eva Kosek (Sweden), and Claudia Sommer (Germany) on the IASP Council.